KEYMILE enhances its strategic positioning with quantum cryptography solutions

18. February 2016

KEYMILE is adding quantum-cryptography solutions from ID Quantique, worldwide leader in quantum-safe encryption solutions from Switzerland, to its product range for mission-critical communications networks. This move underscores KEYMILE’s strategic positioning as a leading supplier of highly secure mission-critical systems for local authorities, railway companies and power utilities.

In the framework of a sales-partnership agreement with ID Quantique KEYMILE can offer encryption solutions with immediate effect. This has allowed KEYMILE to expand its product portfolio for communications networks to meet all core requirements. These requirements include maximum fail-safe operation, robust and secured access- and data-transmission systems, simultaneous operation of TDM- and packet-based services, as well as strong encryption to provide extra security for the data streams. Consequently, KEYMILE is also furthering its strategy of focusing on mission-critical communications networks belonging to local authorities, railway companies, power utilities and operators of oil- and gas-pipelines.

ID Quantique develops sophisticated encryption solutions to ensure secure data networks by using conventional and quantum cryptography. Quantum Key Distribution (QKD), based on quantum physics, is an essential component of the solutions. In contrast to conventional methods for exchanging encryption keys such as public key cryptography, QKD offers maximum protection from attempts to decrypt data in transit using brute force. The reason is that, through the fundamental laws of quantum physics, any attempt to read the key without authorisation will alter it irrevocably. This is a basic principle of quantum physics. As a result, any attempt to spy on the encrypted data is uncovered immediately. KEYMILE offers three ID Quantique products for resale in mission-critical communications networks. The first is the multi-link encryptor Centauris CN8000 which supports encrypted bandwidth of up to 10 x 10 Gbps in layer 2 networks. The second is the sophisticated Ethernet- and Fibre-Channel-Centauris-Link encryptor family. The Centauris products are certified based on the international security standards common criteria EAL4+ and FIPS PUB 140-2 level 3. The third product is the Cerberis QKD server.

In addition to expanding its product portfolio, KEYMILE is setting up a Cyber Security Competence Centre which supports operators of mission-critical communications networks in defining and im-plementing a cyber-security strategy. In conjunction with certified partners, KEYMILE is offering an in-depth service portfolio that includes advisory, planning, implementation and operational elements, as well as in-depth product and technology training courses. 

"The fact that quantum computing will render current cryptographic solutions vulnerable is now widely acknowledged”, says Grégoire Ribordy, CEO of ID Quantique. “By making the move to offer quantum-safe cryptographic solutions, KEYMILE demonstrates its deep understanding of cybersecurity challenges and its commitment to long-term security”.

“ID Quantique’s quantum-cryptography products ideally complement our own mission-critical-systems strategy”, comments Axel Föry, CEO of KEYMILE. “We are now in a position to offer operators of mission-critical communications networks a wide portfolio of solutions and services which they can harness to boost the availability and security of their infrastructure significantly once again”.

To IDQ website.

Back to overview

KEYMILE erweitert strategische Ausrichtung mit Lösungen zur Quantenkryptographie

18. Februar 2016

KEYMILE baut sein Produktportfolio für Mission-Critical-Kommunikationsnetze mit Lösungen von ID Quantique, einem aus der Schweiz stammenden weltweit führenden Anbieter von Lösungen zur Quantenkryptographie, weiter aus. Damit verdeutlicht KEYMILE seine strategische Positionierung als führender Anbieter hochsicherer Mission-Critical-Systeme für Behörden, Eisenbahnen und Energieversorger.

Im Rahmen einer Vertriebspartnerschaft mit ID Quantique bietet KEYMILE ab sofort die Verschlüsselungslösungen von ID Quantique an. KEYMILE erweitert damit sein Produktportfolio für Mission-Critical-Kommunikationsnetze, mit dem sich alle zentralen Anforderungen bewältigen lassen. Hierzu zählen höchste Ausfallsicherheit, robuste, abgeschottete Zugangs- und Datenübertragungssysteme, der parallele Betrieb von TDM- und paketbasierten Diensten sowie die erweiterte Sicherung der Datenströme durch starke Verschlüsselung. Gleichzeitig verstärkt KEYMILE dadurch noch einmal seine strategische Ausrichtung auf Mission-Critical-Kommunikationsnetze von Behörden, Eisenbahnen, Energieversorgern sowie Betreibern von Öl- und Gas-Pipelines.

ID Quantique entwickelt intelligente Verschlüsselungslösungen, die Datennetze mit konventioneller sowie mit Quantenkryptographie sichern. Elementarer Bestandteil ist der auf Quantenphysik basierende Quantenschlüsselaustausch (QKD – Quantum Key Distribution). Im Unterschied zu herkömmlichen Schlüsselaustauschverfahren, wie der Public-Key-Verschlüsselung, bietet QKD höchstmögliche Sicherheit vor Brute-Force-Entschlüsselungsversuchen, weil jeder Versuch, den Schlüssel unerlaubt zu lesen, zu seiner Veränderung führt; das ist ein Grundprinzip der Quanten-Physik. Damit lässt sich jeder Lauschangriff auf verschlüsselte Daten sofort enttarnen. KEYMILE bietet als Reseller drei Produkte von ID Quantique für den Einsatz in Mission-Critical-Netzen an: erstens den Multi-Link-Encryptor Centauris CN8000, der eine verschlüsselte Gesamtbandbreite von bis zu 10 x 10 Gbit/s in Layer-2-Netzen unterstützt; zweitens die hochperformante Ethernet- und Fibre-Channel-Centauris-Link-Encryptor-Familie. Die Centauris-Produkte sind nach den internationalen Sicherheitsstandards Common Criteria EAL4+ und FIPS PUB 140-2 Level 3 zertifiziert. Dazu kommt als drittes Produkt der Cerberis QKD Server.

Ergänzend zu dem erweiterten Produktportfolio baut KEYMILE ein Cyber Security Competence Centre auf, das Betreiber von Mission-Critical-Kommunikationsnetzen bei der Definition und Umsetzung einer Cyber-Security-Strategie unterstützt. Gemeinsam mit zertifizierten Partnern bietet KEYMILE ein umfangreiches Service-Portfolio an, das Angebote in den Bereichen Beratung, Planung, Implementierung, Betrieb sowie detaillierte Produkt- und Technologieschulungen umfasst.

„Die Tatsache, dass Quantencomputer aktuelle Verschlüsselungslösungen angreifbar machen, ist heute allgemein bekannt“, sagt Grégoire Ribordy, CEO von ID Quantique. „Mit der Bereitstellung von Quantum-Safe-Cryptography-Lösungen verdeutlicht KEYMILE sein tiefgreifendes Verständnis der Cyber-Security-Herausforderungen und sein Engagement im Hinblick auf eine langfristige Datensicherheit.“

„Die Quantenkryptographie-Produkte von ID Quantique ergänzen unsere eigene strategische Ausrichtung im Bereich der Mission-Critical-Systeme ideal“, erläutert Axel Föry, CEO von KEYMILE. „Wir bieten den Betreibern von Mission-Critical-Kommunikationsnetzen damit ein umfangreiches Lösungs-und Serviceportfolio an, mit dem sie die Verfügbarkeit und Sicherheit ihrer Infrastrukturen noch einmal deutlich steigern können.“

zur IDQ-Website

 

Zurück zur Übersicht